Aurora Australis, 2011.11.30 Stewart Island, NZ  (1).jpeg

The Shropshire Astronomical Society (SAS) is a county-wide group, run by volunteers for anyone interested in astronomy, star-gazing or space exploration. We meet once a month for observing sessions at Rodington and Little Ness Village Hall's.  We also meet periodically at various venues for special events and outreach work thoughout Shropshire

 
 
Search

Try Before You Buy

One of the benefits of being a member of the SAS is to be able to borrow from the wide variety of instruments available from its...

SAS Crash Jubilee Celebrations

Needless to say we jumped at the opportunity to offer our services to help make the village jubilee celebrations go down well. As...

Are TWO Eyes Better Than ONE?

Telescopes show only a small area of the night sky. Binoculars, with their wider field of view, let you scan the sky for targets. Also...

Astronomy In The Community

A mixture of SAS members, guests and passing public were treated to a range of talks and activities including topics on the Moon, JWST,...

SAS Storm Comer Woods

At the invitation of the National Trust the Shropshire AS paid a return visit to Comer Woods, part of the Dudmaston Estate. In a...

Does Cold Dark Matter matter?

As the season develops and we open up more, members, guests and interested residents of Shropshire were invited to our February meeting...

January Monthly SAS Meeting

The chairman reports that 30 hardy stargazers, many members but with a sprinkling of keen starters, turned out for the second meeting of...

April 2021 - Monthly Meeting

Our April Zoom meeting is now available on our Youtube channel where you can watch great presentations including Heroes of Astronomy by...

 

Contact

There are many individuals that contribute to the running of the society and you may contact the society by getting in touch with:

Chairman – Steve Szwajkun FRAS: chairman@shropshire-astro.uk

Membership Secretary – Pete Gunn: membership@shropshire-astro.uk

Treasurer – John Woodward: treasurer@shropshire-astro.uk

Instrument Curator – Roy Noons: curator@shropshire-astro.uk

Newsletter Editor – Alan Jones: newsletter@shropshire-astro.uk

Facebook Admin – Emma Perry: facebook@shropshire-astro.uk

Instagram/Twitter Admin – Jane Newell: instagram@shropshire-astro.uk

Website Admin – John Shorter: webmaster@shropshire-astro.uk

Little Ness Contact – Stan Courtney: littleness@shropshire-astro.uk

M45, 2020.01.19 & 02.27  (3).jpeg